Power-Packed Clash: A Guide to the ODI World Cup 2023 Semi-Finals

3 min read

The stage for the World Cup semi-finals is all set with IND vs NZ and SA vs AUS set to lock horns. All details inside

The stage is all set for a power-packed semi-finals of the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 after a roller coaster of a league stage. South Africa, Australia, India and New Zealand have made it to the final four of this marquee tournament who will battle for the coveted trophy. While India remains unbeaten so far in this World Cup, Australia has displayed some amazing resilience while South Africa and New Zealand have remained consistent.

ODI World Cup Semi-final fixtures

Semi-final 1 – IND vs NZ

The first semi-final of the World Cup 2023 will be played between table toppers India and New Zealand at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai on November 15 at 2 PM IST. India will look to exact revenge against the Black Caps in response to the upset in the last World Cup campaign in 2019. While India will aim to continue the carnage on their path to their 3rd World Cup, New Zealand will eye to make it to where they couldn’t make it to in 2019.

Out of 38 ODI games played at the Eden Gardens, the side batting first has won 22 times. One can expect India to win the toss and bat first, putting up a humongous score for the Kiwis to chase. What can be expected is a cracker of a contest.

Semi-final 2 – SA vs AUS

Semi-final 2 of the ODI World Cup 2023 will be a face-off between South Africa and Australia on November 16 at 2 PM at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Australia rose from the ashes to make it to the final four, displaying absolute dominance and unbelieveable performances en route. South Africa, too, have displayed a similar attitude in this World Cup, having performed consistently and with all parts of the group contributing evenly.

The contest is all set to be played in the batters’ paradise, the same place where India won its last World Cup.

The sample size for the ground is big enough, with just 25 ODIs being played here. In these matches, the average first-inning score is 256, with no significant advantage to the side batting first or second (13-12 in favour of the side batting first).

The highest score posted here is 438/4 by South Africa in 2015 against India. Conversely, the lowest total posted here is 115 by Bangladesh in 1998 against India.

Also Read

Squads of all World Cup Semi-finalists

India (IND)

Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya*, Ravichandran Ashwin, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur

New Zealand (NZ)

Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young.

South Africa (SA)

Temba Bavuma (c), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams

Australia (AUS)

Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc

You May Also Like

More From Author