Suryakumar Yadav aims for world record victory as India takes on Raipur

3 min read

IND vs AUS fourth T20I will be played at Shaheed Veer Narayan International Stadium in Raipur. India leading the series 2-1.

Action shifts to Raipur with IND vs AUS 4th T20I. Leading 2-1 in the series despite a defeat in Guwahati, India Cricket Team will be relaxed. Even though bowling hasn’t clicked on flat decks, their batting has been excellent. And the Australia side in the 4th T20I will be an easier target in absence of Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith and Adam Zampa. Even though Australia have brought in reinforcements, India too have been boosted by the likes of Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Chahar. Hence, Suryakumar Yadav-led India will be aiming to shrug off Guwahati blues and attempt to win 5th consecutive T20I series at home.

Not only that but Team India will also gun for a world record of most T20I wins. India are currently equal with Pakistan on 135 wins in T20Is.

Also Read

Bowling in spotlight

The flat surfaces so far have not aided bowlers. Add dew to the mix and India’s bowling has been below average. Apart from the 2nd T20I, Indian bowlers have conceded over 200 runs in both 1st and 3rd T20I.

With no Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Mohammed Shami, Prasidh Krishna and Arshdeep Singh have failed to take regular wickets, plus bowl economical spells consistently. Mukesh Kumar did manage to contain runs in the 1st and 2nd T20Is but his absence in the 3rd resulted in Australia chasing down 223-run target with relative ease.

Prasidh has had a disastrous outing so far, bagging just four wickets at an economy rate of 13.25. In the IND vs AUS 4th T20I, Mukesh Kumar or Deepak Chahar are likely to replace Prasidh.

In the batting department, Shreyas Iyer is set to return in the place of Tilak Varma, who so far has a mixed outing in the first three games. Barring these changes, the rest of the playing XI won’t likely be tinkered.

As for Australia, it’s about levelling the series. Barring Travis Head, all World Cup winners have returned home to leave a big gap in the squad. But the likes of Ben McDermott, Aaron Hardie and Kane Richardson could be called in to aid the side.

Australia are the only side since 2019 to beat India in a T20I series at their own backyard. And even though they are depleted, the Aussies will be aiming to make that happen again.

IND vs AUS: Match Details 

Match India vs Australia, 4th T20I

Venue Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur  

Date & Time Friday, December 1, 7:00 PM  

Live Broadcast and Streaming Details Sports 18, Colors Cineplex, and JioCinema

India Vs Australia 4th T20I Squads:

India Squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan(w), Suryakumar Yadav(c), Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer, Jitesh Sharma, Mukesh Kumar, Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube

Australia Squad: Travis Head, Matthew Short, Aaron Hardie, Ben McDermott, Matthew Wade(w/c), Tim David, Chris Green, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Ellis, Jason Behrendorff, Tanveer Sangha, Kane Richardson, Josh Philippe

You May Also Like

More From Author