Suryakumar Yadav’s First Press Conference as Captain Attended by Only Two Journalists

2 min read

Suryakumar Yadav will lead the young Indian squad for 5-match T20I series against Australia, starting on Thursday.

After World Cup final heartbreak, Team India is set to host Australia for a 5-match T20I series, starting on Thursday, November 23. In the absence of regular skipper Hardik Pandya and other senior players, Suryakumar Yadav was picked as the captain for the series.

However, Suryakumar Yadav got a lukewarm welcome in his first press conference as Team India skipper as only two journalists turned up for the media interaction ahead of IND vs AUS 1st T20I in Visakhapatnam.

Also Read

Veteran cricket journalist, Vimal Kumar, took to X to share the shocking detail from the press conference.

“From 200 odd media people (during World Cup) to just two in press conference in India is staggering! SKY wouldn’t have imagined this in his firstPC as captain. Is this a record with fewest attendance in a press conference in India? I would imagine so”, Vimal Kumar wrote.

It will take time: Suryakumar on World Cup loss

Suryakumar Yadav also opened up about the feelings following the crushing World Cup final defeat on November 19.

“It is a little disappointing, obviously. At the end, when you look back at the journey, it was a really great campaign. Every member, not only the players, all of India were very proud of the way we displayed our talent on the ground. That was the positive, the brand of cricket that we played throughout the tournament. And we are really proud of that,” Suryakumar said.

“It is difficult. It will take time. It can’t be that you get up next morning, and forget everything that happened. It was a long tournament. Obviously, we would have loved to win. But you got to look at the light at the end of the tunnel. You have to forget, and move on” SKY explained.

Team India Squad for IND vs AUS T20Is:

Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

You May Also Like

More From Author