Temba Bavuma omitted from IND vs SA ODI squad following disappointing World Cup performance

2 min read

Aiden Markram will lead both white-ball sides while Temba Bavuma will only play in Tests while Anrich Nortje continues to recover from injury.

South Africa Cricket Team have dropped captain Temba Bavuma from ODI squad after World Cup debacle. Aiden Markram will lead the ODI side instead. Markram will also lead T20I side while Bavuma will captain in IND vs SA Test. The series starts on Dec 10. Kagiso Rabada is also missing from the ODI squad as he focuses on red-ball cricket.

However, with T20 World Cup 2024 just six months away, South Africa have not selected Dewald Brevis in the T20I squad. Temba Bavuma also does not feature in T20 squad. Rather, Nandre Burger has given a maiden call-up apart from Ottniel Baartman.

South Africa T20I squad: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee (1st and 2ndT20Is), Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen (1st and 2nd T20Is), Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi (1st and 2nd T20Is), Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, and Lizaad Williams

SA Test squad:

South Africa have picked full-strength Test squad. David Bedingham has got a maiden call-up besides Tristan Stubbs. However, Heinrich Klaasen remains absent from Test scheme of things.

South Africa ODI squad: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne and Lizaad Williams

South Africa Test squad: Temba Bavuma (c), David Bedingham, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs and Kyle Verreynne

You May Also Like

More From Author