Virat Kohli’s Stellar Performance Earns Him Player of the Tournament at the World Cup: A Look at All the Award Winners

2 min read

Virat Kohli has been awarded the Man of the Series of the Cricket World Cup 2023 despite India finishing as runners-up. Kohli scored an impressive 765 runs in the tournament, becoming the first batter to cross 750 in the World Cup. With 6 fifties and 3 centuries, Kohli stood out as a top performer. Australian opener Travis Head, who scored 137 runs in the finals against India, was named the Man of the Match and received his award from Sachin Tendulkar. BCCI Secretary Jay Shah awarded the runners-up medals to the Indian team while BCCI President Roger Binny presented the Man of the Series award to Virat Kohli.

The World Cup Player of the Series winners from previous years are as follows:
1992 – Martin Crowe
1996 – Sanath Jayasuriya
1999 – Lance Klusner
2003 – Sachin Tendulkar
2007 – Glenn McGrath
2011 – Yuvraj Singh
2015 – Mitchell Starc
2019 – Kane Williamson
2023 – Virat Kohli

In terms of individual statistics, Virat Kohli scored the most runs in the tournament with 765. Glenn Maxwell had the highest individual score of 201*, while Quinton de Kock hit the most centuries with 4. Rohit Sharma hit the most sixes with 31, and Mohd Shami took the most wickets with 24. Shami also had the best figures of 7/57. Quinton de Kock had the most wicketkeeping dismissals with 20, and Daryl Mitchell took the most outfield catches with 11.

Misha Ghosh is a sports writer at InsideSport who is passionate about football, cricket, and Formula One. He is a Manchester United fan and admires Wayne Rooney as his favorite footballer. In Formula One, he follows Lewis Hamilton as a seven-time champion. Apart from sports, Misha is a guitarist who enjoys listening to Pink Floyd, Iron Maiden, Alice in Chains, and RHCP.

You May Also Like

More From Author